

INDIAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF POPULATION

Joint Meeting of the past and present term EC members

11:00 AM on 25 August 2024

Using Webex Platform

Minutes of the Meeting

Members present

The joint meeting of the past and present term EC members of IASP was held at 11:00 AM on 25 August 2024. The following members were present.

- 1. Dr Suresh Sharma
- 2. Dr. Jeetendra Yadav
- 3. Dr. Anil Chandran S
- 4. Dr. Emily Das
- 5. Dr. Gudakesh
- 6. Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh
- 7. Dr. A. G. Khan
- 8. Dr. Archana S. Muthye
- 9. Dr. Usha Ram
- 10. Dr. Rajesh K Chauhan
- 11. Dr. Dilip Kumar
- 12. Dr DP Singh
- 13. Dr Sanghmitra Acharya
- 14. Dr Rahul Kumar
- 15. Dr Priyanka Yadav

Agenda

- 1. Welcome Address
- 2. Feedback on the IASP Election 2024 and Onward Amendments
 - a. Discussion on the recently concluded election
 - b. Consideration of proposed amendments for future elections
- 3. Reflection on the Past IASP Term
 - a. Summary of key achievements and challenges
 - b. Formal handover to newly elected IASP members
- 4. Announcement of Conferences for the Term 2024-26
 - a. Overview of planned conferences and key dates
 - b. Discussion Council of roles and responsibilities for EC members
- 5. Executive (EC) Member Portfolio
 - a. Discussion and confirmation of roles for EC members
- 6. Finalisation of Co-opted Members
 - a. Selection and approval of co-opted members for the new term
- 7. Any Other Matter with the permission of the Chair

Minutes

Item 1: Welcome Address by the President

The President extended a warm welcome to all attendees and congratulated the newly elected members of the Executive Committee (EC) and Board of Trustees (BOT). The President acknowledged the trust and confidence the IASP community has placed in these new leaders and expressed excitement about the future under their guidance. Gratitude was also conveyed to the outgoing EC and BOT members for their invaluable contributions, which have laid a solid foundation for the association. On a personal note, the President expressed deep appreciation for being re-elected to a second term, committing to advance IASP's mission with renewed dedication. The President emphasized the importance of collaborative efforts moving forward and encouraged members to share ideas for improving the association. Thanking everyone for their unwavering support, the President reaffirmed the commitment to working together to strengthen IASP and further the field of population studies.

Item 2: Feedback on the IASP Election 2024 and Onward Amendments

The President mentioned that the IASP elections 2024 were conducted professionally, with the Election Agency managing the process efficiently and without any room for complaints. The members agreed with this assessment. The President proposed sending an Appreciation Letter to the Agency, and the members supported this proposal.

The President addressed the meeting regarding important updates to the election process and membership fee structure, as recommended by the Election Facilitation Committee, comprising Dr. Suresh Sharma, Dr. Anil Chandran, and Dr. Ajay Singh. The following key changes have been approved by the Executive Committee (EC):

1. Eligibility for Election:

- Only life members are eligible to contest for the positions of President, Executive Committee (EC) member, or Board of Trustees (BOT) member.
- o Annual members are not permitted to contest in the elections.
- o Candidates must have been life members for at least two years before standing for election.

2. Nomination Form Declaration:

o A new statement will be added to the Declaration section of the nomination form, specifying that candidates are responsible for any issues or conflicts arising from their affiliation with their department, institute, or entity, thereby protecting IASP from related issues.

3. Eligibility Criteria for Candidates:

- o Candidates must be life members of IASP for a minimum of two years.
- o Candidates must have attended at least two annual conferences.

4. Position Limitations:

 Candidates may contest for only one position at a time but may apply for up to three different positions within the association.

5. Annual Membership Fee Increase:

o It was proposed to increase the annual membership fee to Rs. 2,000, pending approval by the General Body (GB).

Item 3: Reflection on the Past IASP Term

The meeting expressed satisfaction with the activities conducted during the previous term and resolved to continue them in the current term. Since the President remains the same, no handover of responsibilities was necessary.

Item 4: Announcement of Conferences for the Term 2024-26

The President announced that the annual IASP conference will be held at JNU, Delhi, in December. All members agreed to this proposal. The President, along with EC members from Delhi, will visit JNU to finalize the dates and other arrangements for the conference.

The Eastern Regional Conference of IASP is scheduled at Utkal University from 17th to 18th October 2024. The Eastern Regional Secretary will coordinate with Utkal University for the conference arrangements. All members agreed to this proposal.

The President suggested that all participants, including the President, EC and BoT members, and plenary speakers, should pay the registration fee for both the annual and regional conferences. The council agreed with this proposal but recommended that invited speakers be exempted from the registration fee.

Additionally, the President has shared a document outlining the roles and responsibilities of each IASP functionary (document enclosed) to ensure clear assignments. The council has accepted this proposal.

Item 5: Executive (EC) Member Portfolio

A discussion was held regarding the allocation of portfolios to each member, and the newly elected members unanimously agreed on the following assignments:

- Vice President 1: Dr. A.G. Khan
- Vice President 2: Dr. Dilip Kumar
- General Secretary: Dr. Anil Chandran S.
- Treasurer: Dr. Jeetendra Yadav
- Joint Secretary 1: Dr. Ajay K. Singh
- Joint Secretary 2: Dr. Archana Muthye
- Regional Secretary East: Dr. Emily Das
- Regional Secretary West: Dr. Gudakesh
- Regional Secretary North: Dr. Rajesh Kumar Chauhan
- Regional Secretary South: Dr. Usha Ram

Item 6: Editorial Appointments for Demography India (2024-26 Term)

Prof. A.K. Sharma will continue to serve as the Chief Editor of Demography India. Dr. Gudakesh will retain his role as Managing Editor, and Dr. Priyanka Yadav will continue as Associate Managing Editor. Additionally, Ms. Vandana Sharma will join the editorial team as an Additional Associate Managing Editor.

Prof. A.K. Sharma will be responsible for recommending or selecting his team for the positions of Associate Editors.

Item 7: Finalisation of Co-opted Members

The President informed the council that Dr. Subrato Mondal and Dr. Sanjay Kumar were approached with the suggestion to become co-opted members of IASP. Dr. Subrato has accepted the offer, but Dr. Sanjay

Kumar declined due to not receiving permission from UNFPA. The decision regarding the second co-opted member will be made at a later time.

Item 8: Any Other Matter with the Permission of the Chair

In response to a query, the President stated that the new membership applications received during the election period would be processed soon.

The meeting concluded at 12:30 PM.

